The French Presidency of the Council of the European Union

The French Presidency of the Council of the European Union (PFUE) began on 1 January 2022 and ends on 30 June. This is the 13th French presidency and the first since the Treaty of Lisbon, which came into force on 1 December 2009. The presidency is part of a joint programme established with two other Member States, the Czech Republic and Sweden (known as a "Trio"), which will hold the presidency in turn after France.

During this term, France, from its position at the centre of the European stage, is endeavouring to drive the European project forward, in conjunction with the other European institutions (European Council, Commission and Parliament), on the basis of the programme drawn up by the Trio and a number of French proposals. In particular, its role is to steer negotiations, implement compromises and agreements on ongoing legislative files and move forward with an ambitious agenda for the future of the European Union. To build a more inclusive and sovereign Europe, the French presidency is focusing on 3 notions: "Recovery, Strength and a Sense of Belonging".

 

The priorities of the Ministry for Justice cover three thematic priorities:

  • Protective Europe
  • Digital technology
  • The environment

The ENM has an important role to play in this context, that of contributing to extending France's reach and influence within Europe. The School will thus be involved in the government's actions to contribute to moving Europe forward and promoting Europe as a relevant player in the face of global challenges, whether they relate to health, environment, social or security issues. To tie in with these themes, the ENM has therefore devised 12 training actions under the "PFUE" label, each one connected to at least one of the Ministry of Justice's 3 priority issues mentioned above.

 

See the detailed information on events by clicking on the thumbnail for each one.

EUROPEAN JUDICIAL STUDIES CYCLE (CEJUE)

The aim of this new training cycle designed for European judges, prosecutors and lawyers is to create a "European reflex" and build a European judicial community of excellence.

See more Article

THE EUROPEAN PUBLIC PROSECUTOR'S OFFICE

This training cycle presents the structure and working methods of the European Public Prosecutor's Office for judges and prosecutors who will need to work with the Office without being part of it and who have a role to play either when it is seised or during investigations.

See more

THE INITIAL TRAINING OF JUSTICE PROFESSIONALS IN SUPPORT OF THE RULE OF LAW

This event will bring together different judicial actors from around Europe (judges and prosecutors, lawyers, court clerks, etc.) and will focus on the notion of the Rule of Law, with practical workshops where they can work together on the independence and impartiality of the justice system, the application of the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights, judicial control of the law and preliminary questions.

See more

JUST GREEN CHALLENGE

This event is designed in the form of a challenge: 3 teams made up of participants from different European Union countries (future and serving judges and prosecutors, investigators) will take part in quizzes and a digital "serious game" simulating an international investigation, on the theme of "Combating the trafficking of protected species".

See more

JUSTFREE

The JUSTFREE project aims to strengthen freedom of expression in the European Union. This seminar will be specifically devoted to the protection of the freedom of expression of judges and prosecutors - and the recent changes - in light of European Union law and the European Convention on Human Rights.

See more

TOWARDS A HARMONISATION OF ANTI-CORRUPTION MEASURES IN THE EU

This conference, aimed at an audience of judges, prosecutors, lawyers and students, will address the issue of the integration into EU law of the offence of bribery of foreign public officials, the adoption of a harmonised system at European level for detecting corruption in large corporations and the adoption of the Judicial Public Interest Agreement (CJIP).

See more

LAW ON COMPANIES IN DISTRESS, RESTRUCTURING AND INSOLVENCY (INSOLVENCY II)

In order to deal more effectively with the repercussions of the public health crisis in the European economy, this event is intended to foster judicial inter-professional cooperation with a view to ensuring the effective and appropriate application of the EU Directive on Restructuring and Insolvency of 20 June 2019. The training sessions are for judges and insolvency practitioners as well as interested European lawyers and court clerks and are intended to support the transposition of the Directive in the different EU Member States, in particular by sharing experiences and practices.

See more

THE DIGITAL TOOLS AVAILABLE TO THE COMMERCIAL COURT JUDGE

The aim of this practical course is to enable commercial court judges (or similar) to master the new digital tools they now have at their disposal, in order to contribute to improving the quality of their decisions.

See more

THE JUDGE OR PROSECUTOR AND THE EU CHARTER OF FUNDAMENTAL RIGHTS

This is a conference for judges and prosecutors working in the ordinary and the administrative courts, as well as lawyers and specialised academics. It will focus on two questions: how to invoke the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union and why do so?

See more

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE EUROPEAN JUDICIAL TRAINING NETWORK (EJTN).

This event will bring together all the members of the EJTN, of which the ENM is a founder member, in the Grand Salon at the Sorbonne. The network's role is to foster the emergence of a genuine "judicial area" and to promote knowledge of the different legal systems as well as better understanding, trust and cooperation between the judges and prosecutors of the Member States of the European Union.

See more

VICTI - THE PLACE OF VICTIMS IN "EXCEPTIONAL" CRIMINAL PROSECUTIONS

Launch of the European VICTI project which aims to reinforce victims' rights in "exceptional" criminal prosecutions. 3 seminars for legal practitioners will be organised in 2022 and 2023 covering three aspects: the investigation, the trial and compensation. The International Department of the ENM and the scientific committee are due to start work in April 2022 on the first seminar, which will be held in Paris.

See more

La présidence française du Conseil de l'Union européenne

La présidence française du Conseil de l’Union européenne (PFUE), a débuté le 1er janvier 2022 et se terminera le 30 juin prochain. Il s’agit de la 13e présidence pour la France et de la première depuis le Traité de Lisbonne, entré en vigueur le 1er décembre 2009. Cette présidence s’inscrit dans un programme concerté avec deux autres États membres, la République tchèque et la Suède (dit le « trio »), qui prendront successivement le relais.

Durant ce mandat, la France, alors placée au 1er plan de la scène européenne, veille à faire progresser le projet européen, en lien avec les autres institutions européennes (Conseil européen, Commission et Parlement), sur la base du programme élaboré par le trio et de propositions françaises. Elle a notamment pour rôle de piloter des négociations, de mettre en œuvre des compromis et des accords sur des dossiers législatifs en cours et de faire avancer l’agenda ambitieux pour l’avenir de l’Union européenne. Afin de construire une Europe plus solidaire et plus souveraine, la présidence française s’articule autour de 3 notions : "Relance, Puissance et Appartenance". En savoir plus

Les priorités du ministère de la Justice répondent aux 3 priorités thématiques que sont :

  • L'Europe qui protège
  • Le numérique
  • L'environnement

L’ENM tient un rôle important dans ce contexte, celui de contribuer au rayonnement de la France sur le plan européen. L’École s’inscrit ainsi dans l’action du gouvernement pour contribuer à faire avancer l’Europe et soutenir la pertinence de l’échelon européen face aux défis mondiaux, qu’ils soient sanitaires, environnementaux, sociaux ou sécuritaires. À ce titre, l’ENM a défini 12 actions de formation labellisées « PFUE », chacune étant rattachée à au moins une des 3 problématiques prioritaires du ministère de la Justice précitées.

Vous pouvez découvrir les informations relatives à ces évènements en cliquant sur les vignettes dédiées à chacun d’entre eux.

 

Cycle d’études Judiciaires Européennes (CEJUE)

Créer un « réflexe européen » et bâtir une communauté judiciaire européenne d’excellence, c’est l’ambition de ce nouveau cycle de formation conçu pour les magistrats et les avocats européens.

En savoir plus Article

le Parquet européen

Cette formation entend accompagner les magistrats qui auront vocation à travailler avec le parquet européen sans en faire partie, mais qui auront un rôle à tenir, soit au moment de sa saisine, soit lors du suivi des enquêtes, soit lors des audiences, en leur présentant sa structure et ses méthodes de travail.

En savoir plus

La formation initiale des professionnels de la justice au service de l’état de droit

Cet événement réunira des acteurs judiciaires européens (magistrats, avocats, greffiers, …), autour de la notion d’ État de droit et leur permettra de travailler ensemble lors d’ateliers pratiques portant sur l’indépendance et impartialité de la justice, l’application de la Charte des droits de l’UE, le contrôle de la loi par les juges et les questions préjudicielles.

En savoir plus

JUSTFREE

Le projet JUSTFREE vise à renforcer la liberté d’expression dans l’Union européenne. Ce séminaire sera spécifiquement consacré à la protection de la liberté d’expression des juges et procureurs - et ses récentes évolutions - au regard du droit de l’Union européenne et de la Convention européenne des droits de l’Homme.

En savoir plus

Découverte de la justice française

Cette formation dispensée en anglais entend permettre aux magistrats étrangers anglophones de mieux connaître l’organisation judiciaire française, son histoire, son organisation et son fonctionnement. Elle constitue un socle pour construire un espace de confiance mutuelle entre les États et promouvoir la coopération internationale.

En savoir plus

Défi Just green

Cet évènement est conçu sous la forme d'un challenge : 3 équipes rassemblant des participants venus de différents pays de l'Union européenne (futurs magistrats, magistrats, enquêteurs) vont s'affronter autour de différentes épreuves (quiz et « serious game » numérique simulant une enquête internationale) sur le thème « Lutter contre le trafic d'espèces protégées ».

En savoir plus

Droit des entreprises en difficulté, restructuration et insolvabilité (INSOLVENCY II)

Afin de faire face au mieux aux répercussions de la crise sanitaire sur la vie économique européenne, cet événement vise à favoriser la coopération interprofessionnelle judiciaire pour une application efficace et pertinente de directive Restructuration et insolvabilité de l'UE du 20 juin 2019. Les actions de formation prévues au bénéfice des juges et des praticiens de l'insolvabilité, ainsi que des avocats et greffiers européens intéressés auront vocation à accompagner sa transposition dans les différents États membres de l'UE notamment en permettant le partage d’expérience et de pratiques.

En savoir plus

Les outils numériques du juge consulaire

Cette formation pratique a pour objectif de permettre aux juges consulaires (ou juges des tribunaux de commerce) d’acquérir la maîtrise des nouveaux outils numériques à leur disposition, afin de contribuer à améliorer la qualité de leurs décisions.

En savoir plus

Le magistrat et la Charte des droits fondamentaux de l’UE

Ce colloque réunira magistrats judiciaires et administratifs, avocats et universitaires spécialistes autour de deux questions : comment invoquer la Charte des droits fondamentaux de l'Union européenne et pourquoi l’invoquer ?

En savoir plus

Assemblée générale du Réseau européen de formation judiciaire (REFJ)

Cet événement rassemblera tous les membres du REFJ, dont l’ENM est membre fondateur, dans le Grand Salon de la Sorbonne. La mission du réseau est de favoriser l'émergence d'un véritable espace de justice et de promouvoir la connaissance des systèmes juridiques ainsi que la compréhension, la confiance et la coopération entre les magistrats des États membres de l'Union européenne.

En savoir plus

Vers une harmonisation des dispositifs anti-corruption dans l’UE

Ce colloque abordera l’intégration dans le droit de l’UE du délit de corruption d’agent public étranger, l’adoption d’un dispositif harmonisé au niveau européen de prévention et de détection de la corruption au sein des entreprises de taille significative et l’adoption d’une Convention Judiciaire d’Intérêt Public Européen (CJIPUE) auprès d’un public de magistrats, d’universitaires, d’avocats et d’étudiants.

En savoir plus

VICTI - La place des victimes dans les procédures pénales "hors normes"

Lancement du projet européen VICTI qui vise à renforcer le respect des droits des victimes dans les procédures pénales hors norme. 3 séminaires seront organisés en 2022 et 2023 sur les investigations, le procès et la réparation du préjudice au bénéfice des praticiens du droit. À partir d'avril 2022, le département international de l'ENM et le comité scientifique prépareront le 1er séminaire qui aura lieu à Paris.

En savoir plus